Flying to San Francisco

June 20, 2012 at 5:31 pm Leave a comment

The weather is turning warm in Portland and I am getting on my bicycle nearly every day. For those who like to “celebrate” bikes, check out Pedalpalooza 2012. It has another two weeks to go.

I keep a bike log of the miles I ride and I was able to ride 240 miles in May. I may not do quite as well in June, but I expect to reach 200 miles again. Perhaps the same in July and August? The bike doesn’t look so friendly during the winter so I will be satisfied if I reach 1,500 miles for the year.

Of course, it takes a lot of time to ride 1,500 miles. Certainly over 150 hours (I’m a slow rider), but riding is good for me. I get exercise. I relax. And I get to see my beautiful city. What a gift it is to coast down the street taking it all in.

But I also ride out of a sense of duty. The vast majority of my miles are ‘commute miles’. If I ride 1,500 miles in 2012 then that will be nearly 1,500 miles of driving that I didn’t do. Hooray! But before I celebrate, I should mention that I am flying to San Francisco this weekend to visit family. That’s 550 miles of flying each way – 1100 miles in all. One short round trip flight is all it takes to erase a year’s worth of effort at reducing my greenhouse gases.

And my wife is flying with me.

Entry filed under: In the News.

Global Inertia, Local Action Global Warming = Less Global Cooling (Huh?)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

