Notes from afar

October 5, 2007 at 5:28 pm Leave a comment

I have received notes from two former members of the Project this past week.

First, Audrey Hickton, who is currently taking a brief leave-of-absence wrote:

How are you? I’m doing really well right now, back in Pittsburgh raising money for environmental organizations some of the week. Also, the green/environmental chemist of her [Audrey’s mother’s] company offered me a 2-3 day a week internship!

I have been checking the green chem website, and it seems like you guys are getting involved in some really interested stuff too. I will keep you updated on how the internship is going sometime soon.

Second, Michael Williams (’07) wrote from graduate school at Yale:

I’m midway through my first semester in Yale’s chemistry Ph.D program and I’m writing to say thank you for recommending the program to me as well as to let you know that I really like it here, and that I think other Reedies might like it here, too!

I’m rotating through mostly physical labs, but Yale has recently started a huge green chemistry initiative (Paul Anastas joined the faculty last year) and I thought you might be able to pass the word on to juniors and seniors at Reed who are interested in green chemistry. The atmosphere in the chemistry graduate school is very collegial, with many groups collaborating on projects together (especially bigger projects like alternative energy).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Green Plastic? Oct 11 Th – No meeting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

